Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Would like opinion

Hi, I'm brand new here but this looks like the right place to ask a question. I'm considering buying a new (99 model) 5-speed Regent from my local dealer. He is asking $2000. Does this sound like a fairly good deal? Thanks. Burt

I'm no expert re: new tractor prices BUT I can say that you will likely take a significant loss in the tractors value initialially due to depreciation (just like buying a new car). If the right deal came along your way, you might be able to purchase a slightly older tractor WITH IMPLEMENTS for that much or less. My tractor was 24 years old when I purchased it, but it was showroom condit. and meticulously maintained. On the other hand, some parts have become obsolete. There are some good used tractor deals and some ripoffs-be careful. It is a tradeoff. Best to go into these decisions knowing all of your options. Theres alot of info on this site that can help. Good luck. Paul L.

Burt, The five speed Regent with a fourteen horsepower Kholer engine has a list price of $2,450. The Regent has several features superior to the Express, such as the electric PTO clutch, front anti-scalp rollers on deck, and premium tires. The Express has a Briggs & Stratton Intek engine, thinner sheetmetal, and a cheaper seat assembly, a 1999 Regent for $2,000 is a good buy. Hope this helps. R.C.