Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
HubbardRA

New diff problem!

HubbardRA
I have been mowing my lawn with my AC716H for a couple of years. The axle and diff are from an older machine, and I put them into this unit quickly several years ago. The rear has been locked, probably from spacers on the wrong side of the left axle gear and overlap on the spiders. It didn't like sharp turns till last weekend. Suddenly it started turning sharply, with ease. Great!! Not quite. I was mowing a slanted area, and the left wheel started spinning badly. Chalked it up to the wet, muddy soil, from the torrential rains we have been having. Later on I got stuck crossing a ditch - same left wheel spinning. Checked further - Left wheel drive only. Shredded gear or broken pins? I guess I'll find out when I take it apart. Does anyone know if it is possible to change the left axle and diff, without disassembling the diff? I've always taken them apart before, and dread doing that on the later model limited slip units like I will be using as a replacement.

KenK
I've changed a dozen or more axles(left and right)on these old tractors.Never had to disassemble diff always took it off in a complete unit.I'm in the process right now of making a good tranny out of two bad ones,got axels laying all over the place.[:0]:p:D

HubbardRA
Thanks Ken! I've have had several apart relative to breakage and upgrades for tractor pulling. I've pulled the assembly off the axle tube as a unit, but wasn't sure if the reassembly could be done as a unit. Been a few years since I worked on one. Appreciate the info.

HubbardRA