Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

greyner

How can I tell Hydrostatic needs rebuild????

greyner
:(! I just bought a used 1996 Broadmoor for $1200. It had 170 hours and I test drove it (on level ground) and thought it was great! I got it home and mowed my slightly hilly lawn and noticed the following. Throttle set to full and set a medium speed to mow. The tractor moves almost twice as fast going down a slight incline as going up?? When I do a tight turn the tractor slows down quite a bit, then speeds up when straightened out. At first I thought I had automatic speed sensing on the steering???!! It's pretty scary since it will really shoot down a hill then slow up. My hills are very slight; I'm constantly fiddling with the Hydro speed lever. Is this hydrostatic transmission shot? If so, does anyone know cost for a rebuild? I've never used a Hydrostatic tractor before so it's all new to me. My previous tractor was a 1967 Broadmoor and I loved it but I thought it was time to replace. Thanks.:(!

UCD