Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

MoAC610

AC 610 True story

MoAC610
Hey everyone I am a new member here (about a month) My Nephew has a Small engine repair business here in St Louis, and I occasionally help out when he needs me. I am a Diesel Mechanic by trade (retired). Well one day we are sitting in the shopboth with our heads stuck in two different tractors when we notice a pickup pull up out front. The next thing we notice is the guy sets out ramps and rolls off a tractor. He then proceeds to put the ramps back and pull out a snow plow.He closes the gate and looks at both of us and says Have Great day gets in and drives away. Well we both walk out and here sits a complete AC 610 in good condition (minus the key ) so we get a key turn it and it starts the blades engage and it even drives WOW cool. Ok so now we think is it stolen or what or did the guy get a new Plastic and Aluminmu department store tractor. A couple of days pass and it sitting in the storage area and a long time customer comes in and says my neighbor got a new tractor and wants to know if you want to old one for parts or scrap. So i say what kind is it He says AC 610 I ask him to look at the one that was dropped off. He looks and says yup thats it (even better) So i ask my nephew what are you going to do with it he says SCRAP! I say No WAy I'll take it. Well it now sits in my Garage. It was Built in 1976 and both the deck and frame ID plates are intake and can be read clearly. Currently I am in the process or restoring it I have just finished Sandblasting the Main frame I could not get the exact color but I came up with an Orange color that is relatively close Popsicle Orange. The deck is a 42 inch cut but all 3 splindles need new bearings which i acquired from a speciality supply house. The engine is all original crankshaft, valves,and camshaft wear is minimal I replaced all the seals and gaskets. The Alternator is new and so is the Coil (switched to magnetron