Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
Boney

Engine power, New vs Old

Boney
As I am new to tractors this question comes to me. I have seen new tractors that are around 15hp yet they dont have the attachements that some of the older 8-10hp motors have. Also some of these 15hp tractors dont seem to be able to do much more if any more then the 8-10hp older tractors in regards to towing capacity. Why is it that the 8-10 hp tractor can plow, rototil, cut grass,ect. and I hear of new tractors with 15 hp boging down due to wet grass ? With all the hp of the new ones i would think they would fly throught wet grass. Is the Tourque that much different from old to new tractors ? Sorry for the winded question. If anyone understands what I am asking please feel free to add ANY comments.

Dutch