Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

23D

comet66

Well I tried the search feature With every key word I could think of, and found several threads, but none that adress my question. Do I have any options other than a rebuild for my froze up 23D? I know the engine is obsolete and am wondering if there is a bolt in replacement that would look original. I'm new at these things and would apreciate being pointed in the right direction. Thanks

Yes, I believe that you can use a 10hp - 16hp engine should bolt right in and look very close to your 23D (your engine is a 9hp). I am pretty sure that things should bolt up but I could be mistaken, perhaps someone can definitavly answer this. Ryan

I would think that if the fly wheel come off and could be put on a newer engine it would work fine, but I'n no expert! Elon

The flywheels and where the coil mounts are different on the 23D than they are on the rest of the cast iron single cylinders.

So would it be correct to state that a 10hp will bolt in, in place of the 23D? I believe that was the original question. Ryan

The base 243431-0123????????? engine can be ordered 10HP, I did not want to know the price, they should be almost the same. I know this is a dumb question but what is a 23D? :D

To answer the question about what a 23D is. From what I have read, it is a 9hp engine before the 243431 10hp engine. I think it was used in the pre 1965 tractors. Now UCD is an expert and I know he knows the answer, perhaps he can offer some insight. Ryan

My knowledge probabally dosn't even stand up to Maynard's knowledge of these old machines. I learn somthing new every day I crank it up. No I am not an expert from my standpoint. :D

quote:
Originally posted by rjgoth