Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

need some suggestions for my 7016

Harry, Go to www.jackssmallengines.com and check out the quiet mufflers. Don't know if they will have one for your application, but worth a try. As for mowing at full speed, this refers to full engine speed, not full ground speed. Slow it down and you should get a much better quality cut. Todder

Thx Todder. That is what I do. I was advised by an old man in impossibly huge overalls and very few teeth, and a small business buying, fixing and selling used tractors that I should be able to mow at full ground speed. I suspect that I may have worn both the cutting corners of my blades as well as the 'lift edges' (wings?) a bit. The first would leave tracks between the blades, and if the blades were a bit dull (I am an amateur sharpener) it would cause some grass to be 'missed'. Worn lift edges would keep me from generating enough vacuum to lift the blades up high enough or long enough to be cut adequately. I'll check out the web site, though.