Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

replacing bearings

keifer2k3

Hi everyone, I've got a 48" deck off a 1982 Simplicity Broadmoor III. I'm restoring it with paint and new bolts and bearings. whats the proper way to change these bearings? It looks like I'll need a puller or special tool. Also the shim washer that falls out from the bottom of the assembly when I tap the blade adapter off is cone shaped. Which way does it go in? I'm new at this but having a blast. "Al", if you read this the advise you gave me about adjusting height ahd belt tension led me to finding a huge crack in the support assembly. So after removing it to have it welded I decided to completely restore the deck. Its really turning out nice! Thanks. Oh, anyone have any suggestions to reinforce the two holes at the front where the support assembly bolts. If I use large washers I'll have to grind off some to fit into the irregular shape of the stamp. Will that work?

The easiest way to remove them is with a bench vise and a hammer. Put the bolt back in to protect the shaft ends and close the vise just before it clamps the shaft with the bearing resting on top of the jaws. Give it a few good hits and it will come right off. As far as the washer goes it should be a flat washer and not cupped. It must be worn that way. The washer should be part number 1700230. If you go to my web site I have an online parts lookup to help you. Feel free to contact me with any questions.