Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

• Announcements

• Kent

Sign In or Password Problems?   10/09/2016

If you can't Sign In, you need to reset your password.  Use the Forgot Your Password link at the bottom of the Sign In screen, and the site will send you an email to reset it. If you have an AOL email account, use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the screen -- AOL is intermittently blocking email from the site.
    • Kent

Feedback Please!   10/28/2017

See News and Announcements forum.
Sign in to follow this  
flipdaflyr

Best Series Tractor

flipdaflyr
I'm in my second winter with a Simplicity 7116. It has a 42" blower, hydro, and runs and works perfectly. While the unit seems bulletproof, it is getting older. I would guess it was built in the mid 1980's, or so. Since I'm new to Simplicity and there are many experts out there, I was wondering about opinions as to what series of tractors are the best and most reliable, and what series to avoid. Someone mentioned to me that 1997 was the last year of the "really good" tractors. Specifically, I have a lead on a 12 hp hydro model that looks either new, or seen little use. It has a 36" blower. The engine is, I believe, a B&S Vanguard series engine. Any advice? Thanks............

rokon2813
Can't help you on the advice, nor on the 1997, but as for your 1980's getting old, my 68 is still running strong and working hard ;);):D Take good care of that 7116 it'll last another 20 years. 8D seriously, I dont know anything about the newer stuff, but it does still have the Simplicity name on it, so you can hardly go wrong. My only advice would be, just stick with horizontal engines. IMO verticals are lawn tractors not Garden tractors.

rs07