Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
Orange

Ultimate garden trailer (fenders started)

Orange
Well, I bought an old jetski trailer for $25 a few years ago. I had always planned on turning it into a yard trailer for my garden tractors. It was make out of very thin-walled 2" tubing. The more I looked at it the less thrilled I was because of the demensions, about 38" between the wheels and the fact that my only welder at the time was a Lincoln tombstone arc welder. I am not a good welder yet, but I knew I'd burn through that stuff so fast it would make my head spin.
[img]/club2/attach/Orange/trailer small.JPG[/img]
Since beginning the project I've aquired a nice Millermatic 175 gas wire feed (which is a dream machine for a "welder" like me). My brother in law, a welder by trade helped me get this far, with a heavy duty 2" tubing for the undercarriage and 1 1/2" tubing for the trailer box. My plan was to make this a dumping trailer modeled after the Simplicity yard carts. It dumps all the way onto its back so you can completely clean it out. I also wanted to use receiver hitch stock for the tounge so I could change it out for use behind a car (longer, straight tounge) and then one for a garden tractor (low hanging tounge)to line up with the tractor drawbars and since then a very long tounge for use in hauling 16 to 20 foot lumber or steel or whatever. I will be posting more pictues tomorrow when I get my camera back. The demensions of the inside of the bed are 36" x 60". I would've made it bigger, but I didn't want it to be too heavy to lift when dumping. I may regret not making it bigger, but we'll see.
[img]/club2/attach/Orange/trailer small new.JPG[/img]
view from rear of trailer frame showing 1" dia bolts used for pivot for tilt bed
[img]/club2/attach/Orange/t1.JPG[/img]
rear view of trailer with tilt bed attached
[img]/club2/attach/Orange/t2.JPG[/img]
side view of tilt bed