Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
MarksA-C

707 Restoration Part 2 , Part 3 coming soon...

Ketchamized
Mark, For the steering wheel, maybe you can use a Rust/Calcium/Lime remover to make it look like new? You can find these in auto stores, or in home depot/home depot style stores. I'm surprised you're not touching up the transmission, since you've gone all the trouble to make the front end beautiful. Wow, man, you did really great. Looks sharp. :)

ibelee
quote:
Originally posted by MarksA-C
All I used is a rinsing of WD40, a fine steel wool and Chrome Polish. And for the bolts that hold the bumper I used some Rustoleum Metallic Silver/Chrome. Blends in Nicely.
A rinsing of WD40? What does that do? What kind of chrome polish? What was the number on the steel wool? Sorry for all the questions, I'm getting ready to do my chrome and I'm still learning.

MarksA-C
I started to take apart the engine for the 707. Its the 8hp from the parts 738 I have. Seems ok from the outside. A little dirty but overall its good.

Parts engine that came with the 707

Carb is "ok", a little dirt

Needles good, no pitting or scratches. Still has a nice point to it.

Carb Bowl is Dirty!

Painting the the engine tins for a nice clean look.

TimJr
Looks nice! I have a question - do you know for sure if the steering wheel is original to that tractor? What is the serial number? Do you have the original engine numbers yet - specifically the date code? All of my 707's and all of the others I have seen had black steering wheels. The older 6hp Broadmoors with the black dash are the ones I have seen the white steering wheel on. Maybe another Simplicity mystery here with model year transitions. Thanks, Tim

MarksA-C