Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
skunkhome

Paint problems

skunkhome
I got off on the wrong foot by starting painting without reading the directions. Yesterday evening I painted the hood with Dupicolor DE 1620 paint then stopped and took my wife to dinner. Upon my return I started reading the label to see when I could re-coat and found out that I needed to put on all my coats within one hour or wait 7 days for the paint to cure before proceeding. What a bummer!C Today I started painting the fender deck with DE1607 (Decided DE 1620 was a bit too bright) in accordance with the instructions, putting two light coats on at 10 minute intervals then putting a medium heavy "wet" coat on all within one hour. After the third coat the fender/seat pan was looking great with paint that looked glass smooth with just a few areas that needed a little extra thickness. I started putting on the 4 th coat and ran out of paint so I put a 2nd can into service. Much to my dismay the 2nd can did not spray as smoothly and left a dull finish after drying for 10 minutes. peu

I am quite disappointed with the finish. I started checking my cans and found that the 1st can was another lot number. Can I wet sand the final finish after it has cured for 7 days? If so what kind grit sandpaper should I use. I have been using 320 grit on the primer...is that fine enough to give a good shine.

RenegadeJ
I think 320 grit would be too coarse to make it shine. I would try 1000 grit wet sand, (keep it real wet). This will dull the finish at first but after wiping with a clean dry rag spray it with clear coat and it should bring it to a shine.

PatRarick