Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Engine died while mowing

KDurkee

I did a search and found some good things to try, but since I didn't really find anything specific to my exact problem, I still want to run this by you guys just to try and save myself some work. I have a 5216H with a 16HP twin Briggs that I have been using for 2 years now. I had to rebuild the carb last year when I got it, but other than that it has been a sweet running machine. Today I was mowing for about 2.5 hours when all of a sudden the engine just quit as if I had turned the key off. The first thing I did was drain the carb, since it sat out in the rain this past weekend for the first time. There was no water in the fuel that I drained out. The next thing I did was to pull a spark plug boot and do the 'screwdriver to the top of the plug' trick to see if there was any spark. There was not. Everything else looks good. Any suggestions for a good place to start? Any common problems related to this? Thanks! Keith

I just tried to fire it again after sitting for 2 hours and still no spark. Could the condenser go all of a sudden like that?

It won't have a condenser, it will have electronic (Magnetron) ignition. It sounds like a text book case of a bad coil to me. There is no test to see if the ignition module is good, so you will just have to replace it. Before you go buy the part, however, there are a couple checks you can do. Remove the flywheel shroud, and make sure you have .010 thousandths air gap in between the legs of the module and the flywheel magnets. If they are rusty (surface rust, not structural), that's ok, rust does not affect magnetism. If the gap is close to what it should be, remove the kill wire that connects to the coil, and test for spark again. If you have no spark, replace the coil. If you have spark, follow that kill wire, it is shorted somewhere in the circuit, causing your no spark condition. Hope this helps, Andy

quote: