Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
tacomac

tractor dies

tacomac
My simplisity 917 runs great for about 5 minutes and than it pops and the engine dies. It will start up again and run about another 5 minutes and does it again: would this be the coil? any sugestions appreciated:

Burntime
ZVent cap on tank bad, fuel pump bad and sucking the carb dry, condensor... Have seen a lot. And I am a rookie... Someone with much more knowledge will come along and solve it... Good luck....

Mine would start and run for a while, but wouldn't restart if I left it off for a few minutes. Gradually got worse until it would just stop running. A new coil solved it for me. The fact that your unit restarts immediately may mean something else like a bad ground or switch.

HubbardRA
Also check the clearance on the exhaust valve. I had a push mower that would start and mow one strip across my lawn (100 ft) and then stop. I could re-start it immediately and it would mow back across the lawn and stop. I found no clearance in the exhaust valve. Put the right clearance in the valve and it would run the gas tank dry before it stopped. This is usually the last thing that anyone wants to check, but it happens quite often. As one of these engines runs, the hard valve will gradually beat the valve seat larger and allow the valve to seat deaper. This reduces the valve clearance. If the clearance gets small enough, the valve will stop seating when it heats up and the valve stem gets longer.

Glen112