Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
AC_B-1Novice

Is this worth $500.00

AC_B-1Novice
20 HORSEPOWER SIMPLICITY SUNSTAR WITH NEW ENGINE AND 60 INCH DECK WITH 3 SETS OF BLADES. WE BOUGHT A ZERO TURN MOWER AND NO LONGER NEED THIS ONE, IT HAS NOT BEEN USED FOR ABOUT 4 YEARS AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THE HYDRO PUMP IS GOING OUT. IT DOES A WONDERFUL JOB OF MOWING BUT JUST NEEDS THE HYDRO PUMP WORKED ON.FEEL FREE TO MAKE A REASONABLE OFFER,WITH A LITTLE WORK THIS WOULD MAKE SOMEONE A GOOD MOWER

Is this a large frame tractor? thanks

garryvh
I have no experience with the Sunstars (not old enough), so I can't offer an opinion on hydro pump overhaul costs - hopefully someone else can. Having said that, based on the seller's description, the machine was used commercially. You know that the engine has already been replaced and that the hydro unit is worn out. That being the case, I would expect other things to have more wear than if the machine were just used by a homeowner. Examples are mower deck wear parts - bearings, rollers, power steering components, wheel bearings, etc. I recommend finding out from the current owner how many hours the machine has on it. I believe these machines came from the factory with hour meters. If not, the owner should be able to give you a reasonable estimate, based on how many seasons the machine was used commercially. If the owner balks, you might want to think twice about offering a bid. I don't have any experience with the trans-axles on these machines, but would also be concerned about accelerated wear - this could be potentially very expensive to repair. Another unknown is how well the machine was maintained (or not). Hopefully others with specific experience with this machine will offer opinions. My AC 720 was used commercially to cut municipal ball fields. Based on my personal experience, I probably would not purchase another machine that was used commercially. Good luck. Garry VH