Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
RUMBLEFISH

I'm Stumped

RUMBLEFISH
All along I thought this was a Wards Tractor but some dont think so. I am new to this game so I assumed it was due to the lack of any decals nor was it ever painted. The guy I bought it off is rather old now and he said he bought it new in the 60's. The only reason I thought is was a Ward was the W on the grill. SO what is it a wards or allis chalmers early b-10. Can I look anyplace else that would tell me what it is? It has a 9hp 23d briggs engine 3speed if that helps. [IMG]http://i38.tinypic.com/2f0cbrd.jpg[/IMG] [IMG]http://i34.tinypic.com/juclsz.jpg[/IMG]

SimpleTom
Early Montgomery Wards Garden Mark Squire.

Later Montgomery Wards Garden Mark Squire.

Neither are mine. Both were made by Simplicity. Neither had an emblem on the grill. Early B-10.

Note the emblem on the grill. Someone obviously painted a "W" on you emblem. You have a Allis Chalmers B-10. Tom

Chris727
I do also believe this tractor has been painted, the shade looks a little different from the factory color and your steering wheel spokes are yellow, none of them had yellow spokes from factory(at least from what I have seen.)

RUMBLEFISH
After really digging around with a flashlight I think it was repainted. I see a few much brighter yellow areas painted inside the engine area and under the stick shift area. The engine numbers are as follows Model 243431 Type 012302b Code 6509201 So what motor HP do I have?? And whats the difference between the early b-10 and the Big 10? Thanks for helping me out with this.

Storm7012
Early B-10's are a 9hp 23d and the big ten is like a landlord 101. It's a 10hp and so is yours. But yours could be a late B-10.....I think. The big ten was a one year tractor. Kinda of to make a big deal out of really having a 10hp engine. Right guys?

RUMBLEFISH
quote:
Originally posted by Killer_A-C
Thats a BIG TEN...