Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
RUMBLEFISH

Do I keep going???

RUMBLEFISH
This is my first time I ever honed a cylinder. I bought a sears 3 stone hone unit I put on my drill and lubed it with oil and some kero. I run it up and down about 15 times. I think I did ok but not sure how far to go into the walls. Should I keep going to remove what you guys see below or am I good to go? I plan on putting in the new rings next week. Thanks [IMG]http://i46.tinypic.com/6g8nwk.jpg[/IMG] [IMG]http://i46.tinypic.com/ayvnk1.jpg[/IMG]

HubbardRA
If it were me I would put the rings in as it is, but I do a lot of things others don't agree with. If you hone till you take out all the small scratches, you could be enlarging parts of the cylinder by another .005 to .010 and then you are getting near the point that you would need an oversize piston. Also the hone does not make a true cylinder bore when you try to remove a lot of metal. The diameter will vary as you go from top to bottom. As I said, I would put the rings in now. Others will likely disagree with me and recommend that you go to a true .020 bore and install an oversize piston. Of course there are many who would never do less than a $500 to $600 rebuild in which you put everything in the engine exactly back to factory specs. As always the choice is up to you not me.

RUMBLEFISH