Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
Yeoman627

I salute the Snow Belt Gang

Yeoman627
I really have to salute you guys in the snow belt that have been moving BIG snow for years with a garden tractor. This is my first year. What a job! I worked 5 hours moving 12" and didn't get half done. When I came in the house for lunch, my wife was laughing. She said I looked like a gorilla on one of the grand kids' toys. Then she really hurt me. She sarcastically said my new project was, "Really a great improvement, it only took you 5 hours to do half the job that used to take you 1 hour the old way." She asked if that "thing" had lights because I wouldn't be done by dark. She was right! I went to the shop and got a Case loader to finish up. It was fueled and running when I got there and I was told, "We were expecting you hours ago." Even the neighbors had some kind of wisecrack AFTER I was done digging them out. I think I'll use the Simp for summer garden work, mowing, and snowfalls under 3". Just curious, how long do small engines last when run for hours against the governor with a load? Wishing you all a Healthy and Happy New Year, Century, and Millennium......

Hey Dutch, I have a Kubota B2400 with a 54" loader. It takes me over 2 hours to do my (over 1/8 mile long) driveway with about 4" of snow. My AC712H with 42" thrower takes less than 1/2 the time, and my HB212 with 42" thrower is even faster. How long do these engines run against the governor? Well my HB212 is 30 years old and has mowed 3+ acres and snoblowed the driveway all this time and the engine has not been opened up yet!!! I can't say the same for the 712 with the Kohler engine. :( Mike. PS. I live up here in NW Wisconsin i.e. lots of snow.

FiremanRon