Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
larry8200

Delco Starter/Generater tales

larry8200
Hi, Having trouble posting the picture but working on it wont let me put them in the text so they are going at the end I've had some experience with the Delco Starter/Generator systems used on the Briggs & Stratton engines throught he late 70's that I think is worth sharing here. Hopefully somebody can benifit. I have a 1974 Simplicity 3416H That has been in the family since it was new. The original S/G lasted almost 30 years, and the regulator is still working today. Not bad. The last several years of the original S/G's life it kept cranking slower and slower untill finally even a prayer wouldn't get the engine running. It charged fine right up to the end, though. I had been aware for some time that Delco had stopped production of these S/G's around 1980, and that all sales/support from Delco was long gone, as well as Simplicity. Allis-Chalmers did have a valid part # for the regulator through 2005, but that is gone now, too. If you have time to look and poke around, you can find most anything at a reasonable price, but if you have to have it now, options can be limited. (and expensive) I would recommend that anyone depending on one of these S/G's have a working backup on the shelf. (Easy to say!!!) You can get by without a regulator using a battery charger but the starter... Actually, My 16 HP Briggs has a notch on the pulley to use with a rope... In 2004 my S/G finally had to be replaced, and of course RIGHT NOW. I found a Simplicity dealer, Pinnacle View Equipment, only 40 miles away (close for Unity, NH) who had and still has professionally re-built S/G's on the shelf for $250 with a mandatory trade in of a rebuildable core, so they can keep S/G's on hand. I think they are over $300 now. Thier service department has been very liberal with free advice, both in person and over the phone, which has been worth it just for