Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

• Announcements

• Kent

Sign In or Password Problems?   10/09/2016

If you can't Sign In, you need to reset your password.  Use the Forgot Your Password link at the bottom of the Sign In screen, and the site will send you an email to reset it. If you have an AOL email account, use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the screen -- AOL is intermittently blocking email from the site.
    • Kent

Feedback Please!   10/28/2017

See News and Announcements forum.
Sign in to follow this  
steve-wis

faded paint

steve-wis
Well, I have the electric problems solved on that regent12 I picked up a while back, it was the safety interlock module being bad. Now I would like to try to shine the thing up, the previous owner left it outside all the time and the paint is really faded and dull. I am even less of a body man than I am an electrician so am wondering the best way to try to dress the old girl up a bit,,,,which tool to use, what compound or wax? Any ideas? Steve

Burntime
Buffer with some compound will shine it up. I have had to go all the way to course rubbing compound but it usually shines up. Just don't burn thru. I had a legacy that was wayyyy worse then that and it shines great when I was done. Not new mind you but very good!

Mel_W
Buffing compound ( Mothers ) and a buffer or a drill and buff pad might work if the paint is thick enough. Go to Napa or Aotozone and ask for a good one. then wax it with a good Carnuba wax. Mel

larry8200
A good automotive rubbing compound from Dupont or other quality manufacturer would help at least some. I use the old elbow grease, but there are orbital buffers and buffing wheels that go in a big right angle grinders, and others I'm sure. I've burned through paint with the grinder mounted wheels.... I'd probably practise a little on the center of the mower deck or something. 2 cents worth??? :D

Burntime