Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Preliminary review of Chads AC Yellow in spray can

SmilinSam

powermax_paul
That's good news cuz I don't like Fleet Farm/Farm & Fleet Tractor and Equipment Enamel. It takes forever for it to dry and you have to wait like three days to handle the parts. Where can I get the Chad's Paint? Paul

I started painting the B210 today with Chads paint. Not Bad! The color match is outstanding. Unlike Valspar from Farm & Fleet, primer is a must with this stuff- not for adhesion but for making the color coverage uniform. The tip is not bad but it only seems to allow a real light coat which is good because it is forgiving on runs. It takes quite a few coats to get the best looking results. There seems to be a good amount of paint in each can and I did not experience and splattering associated with some of the other brands I have used. I used a Krylon gray primer for the base and it seems to work well with this paint. It seems to have a good gloss sheen to it. We will have to wait and see about its durability. So far I am pleased with it. SmilinSam

Kent, when I painted my B112 I used the old jd construction, prior nov1 1992 as it is less yeller than the newer, think the cat yellow is more golden than what I used. Can't mail paint cans so thats as close as I could come..MPH

I did notice after unmasking that the color is a hair darker than the yellow on the decals,BUT My tractor was faded quite a bit. The difference is barely worth mentioning. See message #4012 for ordering paint from Chadmb. I have used Farm & Fleet Valspar brand for 3 years now and have had little trouble with it. In colder temps it usually takes a few day to cure hard, but this time of year I am usually reassembling painted parts within 24-36 hours.