Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Ice up problems when blowin snow

MPH

MPH, remind me in a couple days, and I'll take some pictures of a de-icer kit for you. I have two versions, one is about 1965 vintaqe and one about 1970, I'm guessing. You could easily fabricate one out of something like an old coffee can or piece of sheet metal.... I'm out on the road on business and won't be back home until Thursday, and with my "CRS syndrome" I'll likely forget it unless you remind me! Kent

The Soveriegn Attachments and Accessories Parts Manual has a picture of the winterizing shields. I believe one of them is still available from Simplicity. Carl

How bout keeping a can of that spray de-icer stuff on board, give her a shot of it once in a while. Might be able to form some sheet metal around the carb area and trap some warm air off the engine. I'm no engineer Marty, but that's my thoughts on it. Hope some of the other folks here can lay a few more options on ya. What was the temp. at the time you sent your post in??

MPH, I sent you an email with a picture of the air deflector for winter use on Model 700. You could probably make it or order it from one of the sponsors. JJ Nemes and sons advertised one kit for Kohler. It deflects hot air from cylinder head to carb area. Winter use only. Woody I just got you message returned. No space on your server. I'll try a more compact image again now.

Woody, I just got done downloading that pic you send, took about 10min, Thanks..when I put the 112 together I put a glue-on oil pan heat pad on the bottom of the briggs I use on my like I use on the pick-up and van. Think its 100 watt, from NAPA. Throw a trap over the hood and in a couple hours the ole girls fooled into thinking its summer. I run syn gear lube in the tranny as 90 wt just sticks to the housing and everthing runs dry after about 40 below. I have yet to find a need for the trac when it gets that cool out as outside active is nolonger fun.