Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Hello every one

dkent2

Hello every one, My name Is Daniel. I am a manager of an oreilly auto parts in holton,ks. I could not find a introduce your self thread if this is the wrong place I appologize.

I was given a simplicity 5216h last year for free. It was not running due to one of the heads spark plug hole being stripped out. I finally got around to messing with it last week. I was going to helicoil the head but the cost for all that was around 60 dollars for everything I needed. I ending up looking on ebay for a new head and picked one up for 13 dollars shipped :)

I pulled both heads off and cleaned up all the carbon, pulled the carb off to check it out and it was pretty nasty, fuel had gelled and hardened. ruined some gasket doing that, Luckily I was able to get a carb kit and head gaskets through my work which I was suprised!

I put it all back together yesterday crossed my fingers and it would not crank with the ignition, I jumped across the solenoid and it fired right up! after further inspection a wire was not connected and I connected that and now the ignition works.

Still have a few things to do to the mower, belts are in bad shape and I would like to repaint it.

Im pretty happy with the mower and look forward to being on this forum.

my engine #'s are 402707 0145 01 and mower #'s are 86031412 1690881

I have part #'s I can share with people if that will help anybody locate some parts.

I do have a few questions regarding the hydrostat and gear box fluids. From what Ive found powerfluid 821 is what should be put in it. It looks though that there is dexron in the hydrostat. I would like to change it but cant find any write ups on this topic. should I put the powerfluid 821 or equivelant in or put dexron back in it?