Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Homesteader

Running Issues

Homesteader

Well one thing leads to another and now I need help. My puller has been a slow project and I finally got back to it now that I graduated. Anyways, I knew the carb I had needed to be rebuilt, so I did that two days ago. Hooked everything up and set it to the factory settings to initially start it up and then tune. The problem is, it only runs on one cylinder. I believe it acted a little funny before, but now one cylinder will run good, but the other can go 15-20+ cycles before firing, then it does the same thing before firing again. Ive pulled the head to make sure all the valves are moving/seating and they are. I have spark too. The only thing that comes out of the cylinder is puffs of white smoke. What the heck is wrong?????yell8Cyell8Cyell

BLT

Check your point box for loose connections. Had a similar problem with 16HP Briggs, blamed it on carb, turns out loose condensor to point wire. Jiggling wire,

BLT

Aaron anything is possible, but my gut feeling is an electrical not mechanical. I could be wrong. (Been told that a few times too.:D) Could be a spark plug also. 75% of electrical problems are failed spark plugs. New out of the carton they can fail. They are an electrical part.

Homesteader

Thanks Bob. Forgot to mention I replaced the plugs twice now in an attempt to solve this. I had wires made at napa out of older spares for my truck. They cut and crimped the correct ends on them. Wondering if the one on funny cyl is maybe poorly crimped or just a bad wire. That's a possibility that I grabbed a bad wire from the pile.

Homesteader

I tried a different set of wires today... to no avail. Going to try nd find my in-line spark tester to double check spark from coil. I am at total loss so its back to double checking everything in case I missed something.XX(

Kenh