Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
jimmy_g

New guy with a question

jimmy_g

Hi all. since I am new to this site and they say the only stupid question is the one never asked.....here goes. Can someone give me the meaning of the term bgb. I have done searches and all I get is the abbreviation.I am assuming it is somewhere between engine and final drive,am I even close??? Thank you in advance. Jimmy

huffy

Welcome to the club.

bgb is an acronym for bevel gear box. It's the gear box mounted between the back of the frame and the tranny, which diverts the power from the driveshaft 90 degrees to power the transmission and pto pulleys.

dhoadley

I started coming here a little over a year ago a complete newbie. I didn't even know what I didn't know.:I This is a very patient and giving group. I read just about every new post every morning w/ my first (& second) coffee and you'll be surprised how much you'll learn. Enjoy! Dave

Burntime

Dave, when I started I had problem tying my shoes. Now, after many years, I can even tie my kids!:D Welcome to the club, there are many great people, and before you know it, you will have friends accross the continental U.S. This site is run very well and it draws a lot of great guys. It also is a wealth of information for the enthusiest.

jimmy_g

I have been rebuilding Wheel-Horses for years because that is what Dad and Gramps had. but when I farmed I had an Allis Chalmers WD45 and still have a model C. My main go to tractor is my DA 1920 Ultima, however where I am the Simplicity-AC-Deutz Garden tractors are a rarity.In time I want to restore some simp and AC gardens and now I have some friends in my corner:)and man am I going to need them!!!

rokon2813

Just curious Ken, do you work for one of the camper manufacturers??

Wow, I just checked to see where Jimmy is from.

I used to pull out of Wakarusa. Been a while.

goatfarmer
quote:Originally posted by rokon2813