Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Questions about moving snow with Simplicity 7117

mtpmdsmplcty

Hi all. I'm a newbie with one of these machines, was assured it worked well when I bought it, didn't have chance to test before buying. Have also searched FAQs, stickies, etc., but having trouble finding clear answers, apologies if they exist and I've missed them.

Trying to use it, I'm having both traction problems and snow thro problems, I have questions about

My set-up: I have the 7117 hydrostatic and the 42" (1691522) snowblower, the 50# (I think) plastic coated wheel weights, that are already on, and an additional weight platform and some concrete weights not on yet. The rear tires are AT495 ATV tires a bit like an ag tire; I've studded them with a bunch of Grip Studs, still waiting for some ordered chains to arrive. I've lubed and adjusted and serviced etc both the tractor and blower all per instructions from downloaded manuals.

Traction questions: I notice when I'm not getting traction, and going in a straight line (not trying to turn), I have only the left wheel spinning, there seems to be no power to the right at all (which means having the right studded, chained, whatever doesn't add much in terms of being able to go somewhere).

- Is this normal for these tractors, to have power to only one rear wheel?

- Or do I need to make some sort of adjustment or change I can't find in the manual, to have power to both?

- Or am I supposed to have 2 wheel power, but I have a bad tranny or differential (also I've found conflicting info about whether these are limited slip or not), or at least one that needs some repair (not totally broken since the one wheel goes fine)?