Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
fitchnhunt

Hydro Fluid/Filter Change

fitchnhunt

Hi all....going to change filter and fluid on the tractor (Sovereign 7119). Simplicity filter 1650954 not available from local small engine shop. They said they could get me an Oregon brand filter. Went to Napa and picked up a Napa Gold FIL 1084. Manual says to use Type F ATF. Napa sold me Type FA. Any issues in using this filter and type of oil? Should I use something different? Thanks!

fitchnhunt

Thank you for the reply Ray! From what Napa said, Type FA is backwards compatible to Type F. I'm hoping that is the case. I work in the automotive field but that type I fluid I have no knowledge of or experience with. Thanks again!

alec
quote:Originally posted by fitchnhunt

Thank you for the reply Ray! From what Napa said, Type FA is backwards compatible to Type F. I'm hoping that is the case. I work in the automotive field but that type I fluid I have no knowledge of or experience with. Thanks again!

id="quote">
id="quote">walmart has type f . the napa guy that said that, was it the seasoned old guy who knows or the punk kid who is reading the computer ? sometimes they dont understand these old tractors . if it were me I would get the right stuff ( unless you plan on running it backwards .. snark snark :D )

fitchnhunt

Alec, he seemed to know what he was talking about since he was telling me about his older tractors. I get the feeling he was in the know. I still might opt to head to wally world and pick up the Type F anyway. I checked the fluid in the tractor presently and it is a dirty clear/tan color. The Type FA that I bought is red. Sound right?

spyder400k