Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Kohler ch18 shuts down

Terry_Hart

It stsrts well cold, runs for 15 mins then stops. Almost like I shut it off. Shut the deck (pto) off and restarts fine. Then sometimes it will run for about a minute, and other times it will run for 10-20 mins?

Ok, tried the vent. I removed the cap started it up and let it run, after a few minutes it shut down. I restarted it and let it run again and it shut down again. There is plenty of fuel in the filter. There doesn't seem to be any air in there. Not sure now if I have a fuel issue or electrical. I still think it is fuel, as it usually backfires if I shut it down at anything over idle.

I think after seeing some youyube videos that I need to look there next. I have no experience with them. Not sure how to get to it, looks like the carb is behind the muffler. Do these ever fail or get week?

I'd bet on a failing interlock module or something to do with it.

If you have a multimeter, hook it to the kill wire at the engine electrical connector (white wire) see if it goes to ground when problem occurs.

Another option would be to start the engine, then disconnect the engine electrical connector. I'm pretty sure the engine should keep running since it's a magneto ignition and the fuel solenoid should stay open by the voltage produced by the engine. If you do this, NO SAFTIES WILL WORK AND YOU'LL HAVE TO KILL THE ENGINE MANUALLY - by manually grounding the kill wire at the connector or hooking the connector back up so the ignition switch kills the engine.

As BLT suggested, the carb solenoid valve wiring can be accessed by taking the air filter and the tin on top of the carb off:

IMG_4689a.jpg

:

IMG_4690a.jpg

The above pic has manual throttle and choke controls mounted in the way. Here's a pic with the blower housing removed so you can see better::

IMG_4694a.jpg