Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Simplicity 7117 Belt/Pulley issue

mcd

I just recently acquired an old 7117H. This is my first tractor/mower so I'm just learning how to fix issues. The lift cable was broken when I got the tractor so I ordered a replacement online and put that in. One end of the new cable was different than the one it had on there but it still fit. Ever since I installed the lift cable I have been having issues with the drive belt slipping off track and therefore the blades don't spin. I finally got the belt to stay on for a little bit and cut some of the yard but the whole time I was noticing a weird noise I hadn't heard before. After the belt slipped off again I noticed that the idler pulley (I think is the correct name) was rubbing up against the pulley next to it (further towards the back of the tractor). It has seemed to rub so much that the idler pulley has no side wall any longer (picture attached).

Does anybody have any idea why this would be happening? Everything seemed to be fine before the replaced the lift cable. I had cut the lawn 5+ times without the ability to lift/lower the deck. Now that I fixed that issue I'm having this belt issue.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

IMG_20170629_181849.jpg

Edited by mcd

In the photo...loosen that pulley bolt on the left and push that pulley over some.  You may have to release the pulley tensioner. It probably just loosened some and slid over. It is probably covered in grease or dirt but there is actually a sticker near that pulley and when everything is right, your pulley should be in the green portion of that sticker. 

I dont think this has had anything to do with the new hydro cable and is just coincidence.