Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

DaveTenney

Simplicity 3212h questions

DaveTenney

I have been looking for an HB112 or a 3212H for a few years, and finally found one this summer. This one has the wrong hood on it, but I can deal with that. It has a hydro lift and headlights which are worth about a $100 less than I paid for the tractor. I did pretty good on it, but it has a few issues.

The major issue is that hydro is a little sluggish in reverse. I have adjusted it so that it doesn't creep. When you move it into reverse it is not as powerful as it is in forward. 

So far I have not noticed any leaks or weird noises. I was planning on changing the fluid and filter to see if that helps. 

Any other ideas? I'm new to these Vickers and don't know a lot about them. In forward this thing pulls like a freight train. Reverse seems like it has about 50 percent of the power in forward. 

It also has a bolt through the pintle shaft shown on the 3rd picture. Any idea what that is for?

Thanks in advance guys. I don't have a lot of experience with this version of these tractors. Still on the learning curve!

Dave

20180730_192938.jpg

20180730_192840.jpg

20180730_192852.jpg

20180730_192922.jpg

PhanDad
12 hours ago, DaveTenney said:

The major issue is that hydro is a little sluggish in reverse. I have adjusted it so that it doesn't creep. When you move it into reverse it is not as powerful as it is in forward. 

I have the same issue with the 3416H Vickers I transplanted into my Homelite T-12 (after an axle tube break).  The tractor will reverse "normally" on level ground, but if backing up a hill, it takes full travel of the hydro control lever to get it moving slowly.  

I've posted about the issue previously and had no responses; I'm thinking if the Vickers has a "reverse" relief valve (something similar to the Sundstrand "free wheel valves", maybe the reverse one is leaking.  I just live with it since it moves fine forward.