Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Electric PTO install questions Simplicity 7112 and 3415

Jjsmachines

Greetings from a newcomer.  I am just starting out on figuring out putting Electric PTO clutch(s) on a Simplicity 7112, six speed with a Kohler 12 HP k301S engine, that has a 3.5 inch long shaft that is 1 inch OD.  I am also looking to do the same to a Simplicity 3415 H with a 15 HP Briggs that has a 4 inch shaft, 1 inch spacer, and 1 in OD.  From researching previous threads here, I found the Warner PTO 5215-142 that fits a 1 inch OD shaft and see that it was installed on a 16 HP Briggs with a spacer. I have a few questions that I hope you all can help with.

1) Clearance - took the hood off and there isn't enough room in the front to get the clutch on either of the engines due to the front of the frame..  How did you overcome that?  Unbolt the engine and raise it?  Will the drive shaft have to be disconnected? Other options?

2) Spacer - the Briggs has a 1" spacer built in on it's front shaft - was that sufficient for the position of the pulley on the Warner 5215-142 to drive the snowblower? Should I use a 1/2" long spacer on the 7112 with the Kohler as the shaft is 1/2" shorter than the Briggs?

3) Wiring - I've seen hints of using a relay or just using an on/off switch?  How have you wired the clutch?

4) Anti rotation pin/clip - how can I source these?  Do I just use a bolt?  Should it have some play?  I saw the picture of the one on the 16 HP Briggs, but it wasn't clear to me where and how it was secured to the engine.