Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Looking to "upgrade"

dufftron

Hi All,

I've been using a Simplicity 7116 w/48" deck for the past 10 years to mow my property that totals ~6 acres. About half of that is woods that doesn't get mowed, 25% typical lawn and 25% what I will simply categorize as rough (Existing trails, making new trails, creating an orchard from what had become a buckthorn and honeysuckle nightmare, etc.).

I like the garden tractor but to be honest have never liked the mower. The cut height is too low and it's become hard to get parts and sometimes the part you think you need ends up being the wrong part.

So, I'd like to get a new machine for mowing. The 7116 can stick around for other stuff if needed.

I don't need anything fancy but $$$ also isn't really an issue. I suspect I need something a bit newer so I don't end up having trouble with parts. I would prefer a nice mowing deck that can cut at least 3.5" without having to screw around and I would prefer to mulch.

Anyone want to recommend something? There are so many used Simplicity models that I don't even know what to look at!

Tom

Tom, no matter what the recommendations are do your own investigating as they all have their good and bad features.

• Like 1

Yeah for sure. I am hoping people can at least point in a few useful directions to do those investigations.

I like the 7116 because it's simple and has been fairly tough. Don't like the mower deck. Need something about this same size and power to pull around a trailer full of firewood.

Are there any recommendations for similar machines, slightly more modern with a better mulching mower deck and reasonably easy access to replacement parts? Which newer Simplicity garden tractors would you look at?