Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Allis Chalmers 716?

macallis180

Checking on the possible purchase of an Allis Chalmers 716 from a member.  I'm new to these, so any info I might need before purchase would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Basically the same as a Simplicity 7016 but with a Kohler engine vs a Briggs.

I personally prefer this “size” of Sovereign, a little smaller than the 7100 series. Only drawback is no hydraulic lift.  The electric lift option works fine for me. 

• Like 1

Yes, I noticed the lack of hydraulic lift, as ad mentioned electric lift. Probably wouldn't be a problem for me either, as my HB's run my front plow and rear tiller. This would probably be a mower, vac, sweeper tractor for me if the owner calls me back.

Seller said his Dad got the tractor from a neighbor, My concern is the seller said he overhauled it for his Dad, cause it needed it, his Dad painted it while the engine was out, and said the deck was junk.  Said his Dad lost interest later, and decided to sell.

May have had a hard life, so I've asked the owner lots of questions about it.

• Like 1

On 9/2/2021 at 6:18 PM, macallis180 said:

Yes, I noticed the lack of hydraulic lift, as ad mentioned electric lift. Probably wouldn't be a problem for me either,

If it has an electric lift, that is a plus, since they originally were manual. The electric lifts work well and are reliable. They use the same rockshaft and lift mechanism as the hydraulic lifts. A little slower than hydraulic but more than acceptable performance.

I run a snowplow, blower and tiller, no problem on my 7016-6 and 710 with electric lifts

Edited by AC710

• 2 weeks later...

I have a 716H with an electric lift. I don't have experience with the the 7100 series hydraulic, but the electric has worked fine for my needs with a tiller.

Cool looking, tough little tractors. It tackled grass overgrown by a foot in my yard when I first moved in with out missing a beat.