Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sign in to follow this  
HubbardRA

Grader Blades

Dave-Saratoga
Rod, Im also a member of the "Sore left thumb club", im not a grading expert by any means but my front dozer blade and center grader blade are my favorite attachments, and i can make things look fantastic with them, my sickle bar with cable lift also is a good thumb wrecker, i use leather work gloves at least on my left hand, it helps alot, but is not a cure, and it makes a funky tractor tan, especially when im wearing a tanker top, shorts and work boots, i do like the manual lift, you have excellent feel, and controll for the job, ive heard hyd lift, you dont have that kind of controll, but i have no experience, just what ive read here on previous posts, your thumb will get stronger, mine looks like arnold swartzneggers bicepts now, actually i have more a problem with my right hand tingling real bad, pretty sure it all the vibrations hanging on to the steering wheel to hard, anyway, if you find the cure to this problem please e-mail me the info. A/C Big Ten Randy

Dutch
Rod, I'm not familar with the exact details of the Simplicity mechanical lift handle. But if it works the way I assume it does, I would weld a washer to the end of the outside tube, and cut a notch or groove in the button. After pushing the button down, a slight side movement would lock it the down position. Another side movement would center it again for the up position and normal operation. Hope this helps your sore thumb from that *&#$%@ button. Remember, it's better to light a single candle than to curse the darkness. http://home.att.net/~herb.niewender/button-lock.gif

MikeES
How about a "thumb lock" that is a wire that you pulled up over the top of the thumb knob to lock it down. A simple "U" shape that the ends are in the handle (drilled holes) the bend of the "U" can be pulled over the depressed thumb knob. Good Luck! Mike S.

HubbardRA