Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

My axle shifted on my 90s Sovereign!

dlkelley713

dlkelley713

Hi Folks, hoping someone can tell me this is not a big problem...  Sunstrand hydro / rear end.  I'm just getting started mowing and my forward motion stops.  Dang, must've broken a hydro belt, right?  Look underneath the seat, and belt is fine.  I notice the entire axle and both wheels have shifted right about 2 inches.  The outside of the right differential is apart / exposed.  It's all pretty filthy, but I'm trying to gauge my problem for now.  Does the Diff control the axle, or is there something in the transmission that is supposed to keep that axle in place?  (I'm hoping I only have a diff problem). Has anyone seen this happen before?

Thanks for your thoughts / experiences!

Dan

There is a shaft collar on the side opposite the differential that must have come loose and let the axle shift inside the axle tube.  You probably need to check the differential to make sure everything is OK with it.  

• Like 1

Take a look at parts list picture below.  Hopefully the collar is still there.  Jack it up then carefully slide axle/diff back into engagement. may have to rotate slightly to align.  Snug up collar and tighten. (Taken from Jacks Small engine site.)

diagram.thumb.gif.acd651c357b8ddfce55cd8de6d89f638.gif

• Like 1

dlkelley713