Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sunstar transmission help please

TooMuchSpaghetti

TooMuchSpaghetti

Hey all.

I'm new to tractors but I'm a fairly adept mechanic. I recently purchased a nice place in the country with about 4 acres to mow. I figured I start inexpensively and bought a used Simplicity Sunstar 20 HP model 1691381. Currently, the 60" deck is attached. 1800 hours. I think it was relatively well maintained and taken care of. The previous owner was a county engineer and had kept it in good shape. Anyway, my boy was mowing and after a forward to reverse gear change, he said the tractor would not move. After I investigated some I discovered the hydro control rod had broken. The eyelet broke that attaches it to the lever assembly.

Tractor starts fine but obviously won't move. What concerns me it while the engine is running the tractor will not move even when I manually manipulate the lever assembly. I ordered a hydro control rod but is there something else that I should look for or check to make sure nothing else needs attention? Is there some safety that iIover looked that would prevent the lever from being manually operated and driving the tractor? Might the transmission be damaged as well as a broken rod? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.