Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Sunstar engine doesn't turn over

TooMuchSpaghetti

TooMuchSpaghetti

Hello,

Tractor novice here. Any advice is appreciated. I have a 90s Sunstar with a 20 HP Kohler Magnum engine. It had been blowing or leaking oil, not sure which. Couldn't tell where it was coming from. The top of the engine was covered with oil and it dripped down so it didn't appear to be leaking from the filter or covers. I thought it maybe had a clogged breather? I got the engine cleaned up. Installed new air filter and cleaned the  oil cooler. New battery. Old one didn't seem to hold a charge. However, when it did hold a charge the tractor started ok. When I try to start it now, it turns over maybe once, then gives out. 

The transmission has been off a bit and needed adjusted after I replaced the transmission control arm that broke. I haven't adjusted the neutral yet. Like when it's in neutral, it will creep forward. Anyway, it never seemed to keep the tractor from starting. Any chance the transmission alignment has gotten out of place enough the tractor doesn't think it's in "neutral" and won't start?

So, I'm not sure where to begin or what or how to test anything. Might it be a solenoid or the ignition or the starter? And is there a way to test those? I have the Kohler engine manual and they were talking about making an ignition tester but I was kinda confused by their explanation for building one.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to start I would be grateful.

Thanks.

Chris

Ronald Hribar

Did you change oil?

was it over full?

pull spark plugs and try starting engine

if gas comes out spark plug holes you should put a fuel shutoff on fuel line

Make sure the plug wires are nowhere near to anything metal as a spark could ignite any fuel coming out the plug holes.  Or have a change of underwear nearby!