Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

Points related question homelite t-16H (AC)

Gilmer

Hey guys, sorry for so many different topics with issues. As I said before I'm new to these tractors and trying to make mine better than when I bought it. So someone has (at some point) cut the black wire of the condenser and wire nutted it, I'm curious as to why you'd do that and what should I do to remedy this? Thanks 

-I'm trying to upload images (jpg) of it, but it keeps giving me an unable to upload message (-200)

• Like 1

@David Barkey was having the same issues with images uploading. Go into "All Activity" scroll down till you find the "B112 Barn Find" thread. There was a remedy to your problem, but without going back to find the post I don't quite remember what it is. Though I think it is that you have to compress the photos to a smaller size.

Back on topic however, I believe your machine was likely converted to a point-less ignition system. I believe that is known as a Nova II ignition set up.

• Like 2

Tarheel

The job of the condenser is keeping the electricity from arcing across the points. If the engine runs as it should, then I'd think it is wired correctly, if not quite like the factory did it.

As for reasons for doing such ? I'd guess there are as many as there are weekend mechanics. But if you have enough wire, it should be a simple matter to put it back to factory.

Tarheel

From the pics, looks like the condenser was bypassed.  When a condenser goes bad, it can shut down the ignition. Could be that is what happened and why it was taken out of the loop. But because it isn't there to do it's job, the engine will not run correctly.