Unofficial Home of Old Simplicity & Allis-Chalmers Garden Tractors

RPM's During Snow Plowing

Tacey

This is my first year to push snow with my Simplicity 6011 (11 horse Briggs single cylinder). We've mostly had snows that were 4" or so in depth, & very light, fluffy stuff. I have been running in 3rd (high) gear with the throttle 'slow' to get good results. My driveway is concrete and mostly level. My question is...Does running at low RPM hurt anything? A co-worker of mine suggested that I am risking damaging the engine. He says that the single Briggs' are designed to run near full throttle for best results. It sure is easy on gasoline running it slow, plus I don't have to throttle-down to change gears. Any thoughts? Thanks, Tacey PS. I looked in the Owners Manual & it says nothing about best RPM's to push snow. Plus, I found nothing anywhere on this site.

Inquiring minds want to know. Im watching this one. If you have an oil cooler maybe it would be ok. work is heat higher rpms may reduce the effect of a load .

Tacey These engines are designed to be run at full RPM but lower engine speeds will not harm them in the winter where they get ample cooling. You are not running any PTO powered attachments so there should be no problem. Most attachments should be run at 3/4 to full throttle with maybe the exception of a sickle bar mower.It needs to be run at a slower rpm. Most powered attachments perform the best at full throttle and adjust the ground speed to conditions.

You can see the recommended operating speeds for an Allis 700 Series 6-Speed at this link. It shows approximately 3/4 throttle for a snowplow... http://www.simpletractors.com/operation/speeds_gear.htm

As long as the engine is running fast enough to provide ample power, there should be no danger in running at slow engine speeds speeds during the winter. The cold temperatures will almost eliminate any danger of overheating. Pat